Valentine’s Day three ways

Love is in despair – PerfectlyRandom

That’s right, you heard it here first. Love is right this minute, throwing its hands up in despair, and bemoaning the fact that tomorrow on Valentine’s Day a bunch of crazies are going to spend copious amounts on flowers, chocolates, general romantic type presents and set menus.

Here’s the thing – I’ve been with the same wonderful guy now for nearly four years. And not once have we celebrated Valentine’s Day. In fact, if he had ever tried to introduce this celebration into our relationship, I don’t think we would be together today. Because for us, demonstrating love isn’t any more important one day a year than it is every other day of the year. I’m treated like a princess all the time – and that’s the way it should be.

Desperate and dateless – TheRationalOptimist

The singles scene is awash with Valentine’s Day activities, with no shortage of operators spruiking balls, pub crawls, harbour cruises, and speed dating to desperate singletons.  The only winners from this pointless commercial day are these operators and florists.  Oh, and those that are just looking for a one night stand.

With serious doubts about the actual likelihood of finding true love at one of these overcrowded boozefests, I’ve decided to ditch the scene all together and spend the day with the love of my life – food!  Some of the most intense memories in my life have involved food, so I will continue to stoke the hot coals of our ever-strong relationship by indulging in some pate and unpasteurised cheeses from my local gourmet grocer and popping open a bottle of red wine before plonking down in front of the TV to watch reruns of Food Safari.

Finally I could… but I’m not – PetiteFolle

Let’s face it, Valentine’s Day is a cheap marketing stunt. But for some unknown reason, each one of the last seven (!) Valentine’s Days spent single became progressively more upsetting. Whilst on other days of the year I was more inclined to celebrate my carefree life, V Day became my annual ritual day of wallowing in single self-pity. Not that I actually had a desire to celebrate it if I was with someone…

As if just to prove my point… this year I live in one of the world’s most romantic cities and am dating a Frenchy (a notoriously romantic species), yet I am trotting off to visit a girlfriend in Canada just in time for, you guessed it, Valentine’s Day. I will be grinning internally that I am dating a lovely man… but as I have always maintained, will not be celebrating it even though I could! Sorry Frenchy!

Leave a Reply

