Food, Fast: Grilled chicken with garlic and lemon

This is going to sound kind of crazy, but I really only discovered lemons recently. I mean, I knew they existed, but I had this idea in my head that I didn’t like sour food, and lemons = sour face.

But since I started kicking off my day with a mug of warm water and a slice of lemon, they’re always in the house and I’ve really started to embrace them.

So this Nigel Slater recipe from Real Food Fast is basically the simplest recipe EVER – but I’ve just never put this easy combination together!

Quick Chick Part #2: Grilled Chicken with Garlic and Lemon

I’m flying pretty blind with how this is supposed to look, as the recipe book doesn’t have pictures, but as I mentioned, it seems pretty simple. In a shallow grill proof dish put:

  • 4 pieces of chicken (I use 2 drumsticks and 2 thighs)
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • The juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 clove of thinly sliced garlic

Season the chicken with salt and pepper and stick the whole lot under a medium high grill about 10cm away from the heat, so that the chicken can cook through and not just burn to a crisp on the outside.

While the chicken is cooking, I rummage in the fridge and make a salad as well as swede and sweet potato mash. As it turns out, I severely underestimate the time it takes to grill chicken with the bone in. After 40 minutes I’m still stabbing it every few minutes to see whether the juices are running clear. Damn these over grown chicken legs!

The skin is super crispy and flavoursome, and the chicken nice and moist, but the flavour is pretty one dimensional – just tangy. All in all not quite a success – super easy and no special ingredients to buy, but I’m starving by the time we eat.

  • Total time to mouth: 55 minutes
  • Extra ingredients to buy: none
  • Man rating: 6/10
Leave a Reply

