Food, Fast: Best stir fried chicken

Gwyneth Paltrow might be an unlikely source of inspiration for recipes, but her Notes from My Kitchen Table cookbook really is a touching read; as much about her love for family as food, and beautifully laid out. So when I see her recipe for the BEST stir fried chicken which supposedly only takes fifteen minutes from start to finish, I have to rise to the challenge.

Quick Chick Part #3: Best Stir Fried Chicken

I’m on the back foot from the start – either Gwyneth is the world’s fastest chopper or I am the worlds slowest. That and I’m a little confused about measuring out tablespoons of chopped garlic, but I do my best to estimate. After ten minutes I’ve only just finished chopping so I’m guessing I’m not going to be finishing this in the suggested time.

Prepare the following:

  • 2 tablespoons peeled, finely chopped garlic (I use about 6 fat cloves)
  • 2 tablespoons peeled, finely chopped ginger
  • 2 finely sliced large spring onions, white and green parts

Then toss together:

  • 2 diced chicken breasts
  • 1 tablespoon of cornflour
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Heat up a tablespoon of vegetable oil in a medium hot wok and throw in the garlic, ginger, spring onions and a pinch of crushed chillies if you fancy. After stir frying for a minute, add the chicken and cook for about 5 minutes.

Then add:

  • ¼ cup, or about 65ml of rice wine vinegar
  • ¼ cup / 65g of dark brown sugar

And boil the whole lot on high for 3 minutes until dark brown and sticky. 30 seconds before pulling off the heat, stir through a tablespoon of soy sauce. I served it up with plain boiled brown basmati rice and with a sprinkle of freshly chopped coriander.

It’s delicious and almost too flavoursome. While the recipe definitely doesn’t take the advertised time, it is still quick and easy and one we’ll definitely try again.

  • Total time to mouth: 25 minutes
  • Extra ingredients to buy: 2 – rice wine vinegar, coriander
  • Man rating: 8.5/10
2 thoughts on “Food, Fast: Best stir fried chicken

Leave a Reply

