Food, Fast: Tarragon chicken

I love watching Nigella Lawson. It’s true what they say, she makes cooking sexy. In a mum way. Her book Kitchen has a section entitled “Hurry Up, I’m Hungry!” written specifically for me, I’m sure. Determined to try one of her recipes, I bullishly ignore through my two main problems:

  1. I can’t find fresh or freeze dried tarragon
  2. I don’t have a casserole dish or any kind of pan with a fitting lid (that’s a whole other story)

Quick Chick Part #4: Tarragon Chicken

In a pan or casserole dish, with a snug lid, heat:

  • 2 teaspoons of garlic oil (I just use olive oil and crushed garlic)

Then add:

  • 2 finely sliced large spring onions
  • ½ teaspoon of freeze-dried tarragon (I use 1 teaspoon of dried)

Stir for a minute or so then place in the pan:

  • 2 chicken breasts

Cook for 5 minutes then turn over, adding:

  • 80ml vermouth or white wine (I use wine)
  • ½ teaspoon of sea salt flakes

Put the lid on and turn the heat to a simmer for 10 minutes or until cooked through. Remove the chicken, bringing the remaining liquid to a boil and then, stirring well, add:

  • 60ml double cream
  • 2 teaspoons fresh tarragon (again, I use dried)
  • Pepper (the recipe specifies white but I used black)

Pour the sauce over the chicken and scatter a final sprinkle of tarragon if you have any fresh.

Things start to go wrong when I have to cover the chicken. With an ill fitting baking tray.

Left with not much liquid as a result, my sauce ends up super thick and fairly unattractive. Still, it’s super tasty, and the sauce deliciously rich but probably a little too salty for my liking. I serve up with plain sides to counteract the richness – steamed beans and pasta – and voila! A really speedy feed.

  • Total time to mouth: 25 minutes
  • Extra ingredients to buy: 2 – tarragon, white wine
  • Man rating: 7/10
4 thoughts on “Food, Fast: Tarragon chicken

  1. This sounds so familiar. I love any recipes that are quick to make. If I can tell it will take me 1 hour+ in the kitchen I avoid them (unless I have guests) mostly for the reason that I can’t seem to be able to think food until I am hungry. And then things have to go fast.
    Your (or Nigellas to be correct) dish looks delicious!

  2. I’m rather concerned that you don’t even have a saucepan with a lid… I know what you’re getting for your birthday.

Leave a Reply

