Crispy three veg

The last time I cooked steak was on my BBQ when I still lived in Oz. In 2007. Not because I don’t like steak, but because I adore steak – and with no BBQs to hand in London, I want it to be melt in the mouth restaurant perfect instead of out of my pan average.

But this is the year of saving between trips home, to NYC and our wedding and honeymoon, so I bit the bullet recently and decided to make us a treat meal to make up for our reduced dining out agenda.

To accompany our steak, I made a nifty little side veg which is actually great for impressing as it looks a lot more fancy than it is.

Preheat oven to 200°C / 390°F. In separate bowls, peel into slithers with a vegetable peeler:

  • 1 large potato
  • 1 sweet potato
  • 2 parsnips

Mix together:

  • 50g of melted butter
  • 40g grated parmesan
  • 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of dried thyme
  • sea salt
  • cracked black pepper

Divide equally over each of the veg, and toss to combine. Flatten each veg into two piles on a tray lined with baking paper. You want to make them as flat as space allows, so they really crisp up.

Cook for 20 – 25 minutes and voila! Easy peasy super tasty, super crispy veg (poor little parsnip – wasn’t quite as much of him as the other two so he was a little more well done…still delicious though!).

Original recipe from Donna Hay.

  • Total time to mouth: 40 minutes (I’m not the quickest peeler)
  • Man rating: 7.5 / 10
One thought on “Crispy three veg

Leave a Reply

