Perspectives: reflections on life and getting older

The three of us may not be old and wise just yet, but like many others, we have managed to survive our respective “quarter-life crises” and have hit our 30s feeling better than ever!  We have learned a lot about feeling more confident in ourselves and who we are, so we thought we’d share with you a bit about our journey in life so far.

TheRationalOptimist:

1.  How did you feel turning 30?

I had thought that turning 30 would be a confronting and frightening experience based on popular media, however in the end I was proud that I made it having no emotional baggage, many wonderful travel experiences, having studied and lived overseas, a property (and a whopping mortgage), a loving family, wonderful friends, and good health. Nothing to complain about really!

2.  Which period of your life do you think has done the most in shaping the person you are today?

When I left high school, I was a moderately shy teenager lacking confidence with the opposite sex. I blame growing up as an Asian-looking girl in a predominantly white Australian area. However, I moved to Sydney for university and, during this period, boys paid attention to me! It done wonders for my self-esteem, and moving out of home for the first time and fending for myself meant that this time was also very character building.

3.  What do you wish you could tell the 21 year old you?

As a fresh university graduate, I was very concerned with the future and how I could become the most materially successful person I could be. I would tell the younger me, “it’s not worth stressing out about the distant destination and the best way to get there. Enjoy the journey and take opportunities as the come.”

ev at teotihuacan mexico

PerfectlyRandom:

1.  How did you feel turning 30?

It would be a lie to say I felt bad while I physically turned 30 – I was on a backpacking adventure with my fiance, staying in a chilled beach town in Peru, eating ice cream at every opportunity, and tanned to the max. It was bliss. But I must admit, post 30, I was waiting. Waiting for the fabled body clock to kick in, waiting for my butt to sag, waiting for my metabolism to suddenly stop overnight and to pack on the pounds. I’m pleased to report, none of the anticipated happened (much to my grandchild expectant mother’s disappointment).

2.  Which period of your life do you think has done the most in shaping the person you are today?

When I was 27 my Dad got really sick. It really brought home the important things in life, and living life to the fullest. Thanks to that rude awakening, I embarked on an adventure that spans 35 countries, and that I’m still on today. (But if you want the x-rated version, being on the road with my girlfriend partying ourselves sick for months was probably the REAL life shaper!)

3.  What do you wish you could tell the 21 year old you?

“Kiddo, no matter what that douche bag you’re seeing says, you’re not fat. And no matter what diversions you come across along the way, you’ll end up doing what you’ve always dreamt of. So why fight it? Just go do what makes you happy now and save yourself the heartache.”

PetiteFolle

1.  How did you feel turning 30?

25. Now that was horrid. But turning 30 wasn’t the least drama for me. The difference between the two experiences all comes down to what I had done with my life. At 25 I had a long list of dreams but hadn’t fulfilled any of them. My life just wasn’t where I wanted it to be. Fortunately it was a massive wake-up call for me. By 30 I had turned it all around… I was living in London, had travelled extensively and celebrated my special day in the Champagne region of France. I was living my dreams. And loving it.

2.  Which period of your life do you think has done the most in shaping the person you are today?

Life post-25 has definitely been the period when I have made the most choices about how I want to grow and develop as a person. After realising my life was not on the track I wanted it to be, I made a decision to change that. I have proved to myself that I can build a life in new cities (London, Melbourne and Paris), have learnt a second language to fluency, travelled far and wide and learnt many lessons from the cultures I have come into contact with. All these amazing experiences have broadened my horizons immeasurably.

3.  What do you wish you could tell the 21 year old you?

“Big changes almost always feel scary. But life without change is even scarier. Don’t let your life be shaped by others’ expectations. Take the time to work out what you really want in life and follow the path that leads you there. Just remember to be kind to yourself along the way… you’re a very giving, very loving person who is always doing their best. It’s not possible to do any more.

Oh, and don’t believe everything men tell you. Ditch them if they don’t have the walk to match their talk!”

2 thoughts on “Perspectives: reflections on life and getting older

    • Um, WHAT? You can’t remember your first year as an extremely proud and completely fulfilled mother?!! I’m going to pretend I never read this…

Leave a Reply

