A beautiful Easter gift

Happy Easter everyone! As you’re all having a day off… well, I’m going to make it short and sweet too. But before I let you all go back to munching on chocolate goodies, I’m sending a shout out to all the adoptive families out there. Those wonderful people who take in non-family members and make them feel a part of that special family unit.

As something of a globe-trotter, I often put myself in situations where life can be a bit lonely and I miss my family and friends in Australia like crazy. But over the years, I have been fortunate enough to come across some very special families who have taken the out-of-towner under their wings and shared that beautiful gift of belonging.

This Easter weekend, I am fortunate to be spending time with just such a family here in my current adopted home, France. To this lovely family, I say “merci”, and to all the rest of you out there who, either long-term or just for a small moment in time, have taken someone in and allowed them to experience that beautiful sense of belonging that is being part of a family. It’s a beautiful gift to give.

Happy Easter

One thought on “A beautiful Easter gift

  1. Hear Hear! Having just spent a similar Easter Sunday in the home of friends, sharing lunch with their family, I know it’s sometimes hard to find words to express the gratitude I feel in such moments.

Leave a Reply

