Who said an old dog can’t learn new tricks?

Remember that age old adage that you “can’t teach an old dog new tricks”?

Don’t believe it.

Not so long ago we won a brand spanking new iPad in a blog comp. I decided that since none of us wanted it for ourselves, I would buy out the other girls and give my parents the iPad (not that my parents are old dogs, they’re just….rather mature). The other half wasn’t convinced, thinking that it would end up being an expensive toy because “what are your parents going to use it for?”

Once mum finished asking whether the iPad would take up space on her computer upstairs, it turned out, for my mum at least, it was the best present I’ve ever given her.

Not only has she got a plethora of games at her fingertips (because playing bejewelled is good for the mind), she can email, facebook, proudly show off photos of her two gorgeous children getting married, take pictures of the house to show her two gorgeous kids, and best of all – message both her (have I mentioned how gorgeous they are?) children EVERY DAY.

And once I introduced her to the emoji keyboard, messaging took on a whole new level of emoticon-happiness.

I have to say, it makes my day when mum’s messages pop up. And when she claps her hands with delight over each new discovery of what else she can use the iPad for. She’s a pretty clever lady.

20130503-172351.jpg

2 thoughts on “Who said an old dog can’t learn new tricks?

  1. How very true, no one is too old to learn anything if they put their mind to it! I love my iPad and thanks to daughter who cares.

    Xx Evelyn Fung

Leave a Reply

