Messy business

I have a confession. 

I’m getting a quote from a cleaner. As in, a housekeeper-type-cleaner. For regular cleaning of my home. 

OH THE SHAME.

Yes, as it turns out, I am actually willing to pay someone else to do my dirty work. Literally. 

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had a cleaner before. But that was in a house share, where it made sense to avoid conflicts with housemates over who was supposed to be mopping the floor that week (oh, who am I kidding, more like that month). These days, I live in a *cough* one bedroom *cough* flat with my tidy and extremely domesticated husband. Neither of us being particularly messy types, you’d think there wouldn’t really be much to clean.

But let me tell you: you’d be wrong.

It’s not the vacuuming (his job), the bathroom (my job), or the oven (his job) that’s the issue. What finally sent me over the edge was the dusting. You will know I’m not exaggerating when I tell you that sneaky little dust gets everywhere. Ev-ery-where. Within seconds of you getting rid of it. And I’m just going to put it out there: I spend enough time at work picking up projects, examining the environment I’ve found them in, and cleaning them up, to spend time at home picking up photo frames, shaking my head at the accumulating dust layer, and eliminating said dust at the risk of triggering a sneezing fit.

So this is how I’m justifying my extremely undomestic goddess ways:

  1. I’m supporting local business
  2. I wouldn’t be able to afford a cleaner for a whole house, so I better make the most of it before we one day bite the bullet and become real adults with a real mortgage
  3. I’m making a smart investment choice by investing my time in my relationships (read: lazing on the sofa with my husband) rather than my housework
  4. I’m freeing up my husband’s time so he can invest his time in his relationships (read: playing Grand Theft Auto 5 while I laze on the sofa next to him) rather than our housework
  5. I wouldn’t try and fix my own leaky tap when I don’t have plumbing qualifications – so why should I pretend I can maintain a level of cleanliness on par with my mother’s obsessiveness when I’m no expert?

Actually, I think I lied. I have no shame. In fact, I feel empowered, smug and self satisfied for having made such a great decision.

Now get that wonderful cleaner into my house and my skirting boards dust free! 

cleaning products

 

Source

One thought on “Messy business

  1. Can’t believe it’s taken you so long to get one!

    We’re obviously fortunate that we have the means to afford a cleaner, but I justify it by thinking of the time I get to spend doing other stuff. We work ridiculous hours all week, the last thing I want to do on my weekend is spend a whole day on housework. I’d rather be outside in the sun, spending time with family and friends, and going for motorbike rides!

    Plus, it takes the cleaners only 2 hours do do an amazing job, and it would take me at least 8 hours to do a fairly average job!

Leave a Reply

